Most disappointing of 2008

Any idiot can do a best-of list. In keeping with the relentless negativity of this site, here’s my list of the biggest disappointments of 2008:

10. Final Crisis

It only started to get readable with #4, and #5 was actually quite good. Shame #1-3 were all teh suk.

9. Acme Novelty Library #19

After branching out into other voices with the last two volumes, Chris Ware takes a step back into familiar territory with this depressing study of a fat, nerdish social misfit. Which is totally not the same as any of his other studies of fat, nerdish social misfits. I’ve been reading Ware since 1996, and this is the first time I’ve felt like he was spinning his wheels.

8. Bourbon Island 1730

Trondheim’s line was too chaotic for me; I found — or rather, couldn’t find — the characters tangled up in the sameness of lines.

7. Dungeon Monstres 2: The Dark Lord

Not so much a reflection of its intrinsic quality, as of the insanely high expectations built up by previous volumes. This is the first volume in the entire series that has felt less than essential. Maybe the Dungeon formula is starting to wear thin; maybe I was in a bad mood when I read it.

6. Naoki Urasawa’s Monster Vol 18

Speaking of insanely high expectations… Good on its own rights, but a little anti-climactic compared with what went before.

5. Cat-Eyed Boy Vol. 1

As I recounted here, I was disappointed with the first volume. It’s no Drifting Classroom, that’s for sure.

4. No new volumes of Little Lulu from Dark Horse.

Although apparently they’re starting up again in 2009. Don’t toy with my affections, Dark Horse.

3. No new English volumes of Cromartie High School.

‘Nuff said.

2. Later volumes of Welcome to the NHK

I liked the first few volumes of this series a LOT, for reasons I might get into one day. The rest, not so much.

1. Only nine posts all year.

Seriously, Jones, what the fuck?

5 Responses to “Most disappointing of 2008”

  1. Journalista - the news weblog of The Comics Journal » Blog Archive » Jan. 13, 2009: Ruining everything Says:

    […] [Commentary] Worst of 2008 Link: Jones […]

  2. Matthew J. Brady Says:

    You did do one post for me, so does that make 10? Still too few; I expect better this year.

  3. oingoboingo Says:

    Yeah man, get going again. Once a star waiting to shine, now. Even I managed more posts in 2008 which is all that needs to be said.

    Also: Hey, glad you´re back. :)

  4. oingoboingo Says:

    Also, that was me above. Whyever WP would say it was oingoboingo is beyond me…

  5. oingoboingo Says:

    Which makes it even more funny if I say “that was ME and not oingoboing” and then it says “written by oingoboingo” again… err…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

